In 1918, Reverend Jeremiah Burke was appointed Pastor. After three years of planning the creation of a school, construction began in 1921. Fr. Burke asked the Dominican Sister to staff Saint Ignatius School.
St. Ignatius of Loyola School opened on September 5, 1922 with 127 pupils. Sister Francis Dunne, O.P. was appointed the first principal. In 1944, enrollment continued to grow to 432 students. In 1960, the old school was torn down and a new building was constructed, increasing the school to 16 classrooms, under the direction of Father t. Francis O’Carroll and Sister M. Annabalis, O.P., Principal.
Thirty five years later, the Dominican Sisters of Mission San Jose agreed to give additional support to their Dominican schools by establishing regional development offices. In 1996, St. Ignatius of Loyola Development Office was established. The Development Director drew community and public support for the school ensuring its financial stability. St. Ignatius development efforts, through the Vision of Hope Program, brought grants to the school and continue to garner support from foundations, past graduates and local businesses. The parish and school serve a rich variety of ethnic and socioeconomic families, creating a vibrant community.
After 89 years of Dominican administrators, Sr. Georgette Coulombe, O.P., retired in July 2011. In August 2011, Mrs. Patricia Aparicio was named the first lay principal in the school’s 89 year history.
In July 2011, St. Ignatius of Loyola received a 6 year accreditation from the Western Association of School and Colleges and the Western Catholic Education Association.
From July of 2014 to June 2016, Ms. Jane McFarren served as principal of St. Ignatius.
Current principal, Mrs. Ileana Wade, who was formerly the 8th grade teacher and VP, is a graduate of St. Ignatius (’78).